Deciding together

The Senate is entrusted with the fundamental matters of research, teaching, study and continuing education, often in collaboration with other university bodies such as the Faculty Councils, the Rectorate or the University Council. It is composed of the members of the Rectorate, nine university faculty members, three academic staff members, four students and three non-academic staff members. The Senate confirms the election of the Rector and the Kanzler. Furthermore, the Senate takes positions on structural and developmental plans for the university.